MENU
Special Advertiser Content

Legal Matters: Michigan No-fault Law

LegalMatters_nofaultinsurance.JPG
LegalMatters_nofaultinsurance.JPG

Today we're going to talk about Michigan no-fault law. Michigan law requires no-fault insurance. Every registered car must be insured. Every car owner must buy basic coverage in order to get license plates. It is a misdemeanor to drive or let your car be driven without basic no-fault coverage.

No-fault insurance means that regardless of who is at-fault in an automobile accident, there is a certain amount of insurance coverage that you will have. No-fault coverage pays all necessary medical costs if you are hurt in an auto accident. It also pays, up to a maximum amount, wages you would have earned if you had not been hurt, for up to three years. If you are killed in an accident, your policy will pay your family up to the monthly amount for three years, based on your earnings and fringe benefits. You may also be entitled to up to $20 per day in replacement services. This is to pay for services you are no longer able to provide for yourself or your family because you are injured, such as housekeeping and yard work. Finally, you can get nursing services paid for at home if necessary for your care.

If you're involved in an automobile accident, it's important that you notify your insurance carrier as soon as possible to get the benefits that you are entitled to under the no-fault law.

Information provided by Julie Gafkay of Gafkay Law.Today we're going to talk about Michigan no-fault law. Michigan law requires no-fault insurance. Every registered car must be insured. Every car owner must buy basic coverage in order to get license plates. It is a misdemeanor to drive or let your car be driven without basic no-fault coverage.

No-fault insurance means that regardless of who is at-fault in an automobile accident, there is a certain amount of insurance coverage that you will have. No-fault coverage pays all necessary medical costs if you are hurt in an auto accident. It also pays, up to a maximum amount, wages you would have earned if you had not been hurt, for up to three years. If you are killed in an accident, your policy will pay your family up to the monthly amount for three years, based on your earnings and fringe benefits. You may also be entitled to up to $20 per day in replacement services. This is to pay for services you are no longer able to provide for yourself or your family because you are injured, such as housekeeping and yard work. Finally, you can get nursing services paid for at home if necessary for your care.

If you're involved in an automobile accident, it's important that you notify your insurance carrier as soon as possible to get the benefits that you are entitled to under the no-fault law.

Information provided by Julie Gafkay of Gafkay Law.