Gordon sprints away with Midwest League honors

Kyle Russell and Dee Gordon are sharing league MVP honors.

Loons shortstop Dee Gordon was selected Midwest League TMs Prospect of the Year and shared the league TMs Most Valuable Player award with teammate Kyle Russell. The announcement was made today by George Spelius, Midwest League president.

Tony Delmonico was named to the league TMs post-season all-star team as the top catcher. Gordon (shortstop) and Russell (outfield) also were amongst the 13 players selected to the honorary team.

Gordon currently leads the league in hits (153), stolen bases (69), triples (11) and is tied with teammate Jaime Pedroza in runs scored (88). The speedy shortstop from Avon Park, FL is tied for first amongst all full-season minor league players in stolen bases, tied for sixth in hits and tied for 13th in runs.

Russell, the University of Texas TM all-time home run leader, is the current league leader in home runs (25), total bases (241), extra base hits (65) and slugging percentage (.551). He is tied for the top spot in RBIs (89) with Peoria TMs Rebel Ridling. He is tied for fifth in all of Minor League Baseball in extra base hits.

Delmonico, currently on the disabled list with an injured hand, is batting .285 with nine home runs in 43 RBIs. A former infielder, Delmonico is in his first season as a catcher.

All selections were made as a result of voting by the league TMs managers. Managers were not permitted to select players from their own teams.

Gordon becomes the second Loons player named Prospect of the Year, joining current Dodgers left-handed pitcher Clayton Kershaw who took the honor in 2007.