MSP rolls out reminders for people as pot law takes effect
SAGINAW COUNTY, Mich. - Recreational marijuana becomes legal across the state of Michigan tomorrow and the Michigan State Police want people to keep a few things in mind.
“A lot of the language that is in this is confusing at best,” said Lt. David Kaiser.
Come tomorrow, pot will be legal here in Michigan and Lt. Kaiser says there's a lot of grey areas.
“It’s not an open book where anyone can smoke marijuana like they drink a soda, there are a lot of restrictions with this new law,” he said.
Especially when behind the wheel.
Lt. Kaiser says if state police pull you over and smell marijuana, they won't search your car.
Contrary to what the law used to be, a person 21-years-of -age or older is allowed to possess 2.5 ounces of pot.
But beware, if a driver is under the influence of marijuana there will be consequences.
“If it impairs your function to operate a motor vehicle, just like it was before this new law, you will be arrested and charged with operating while you’re intoxicated,” Lt. Kaiser stated.
And state police say they'll take the same enforcement approach as someone who's had too much to drink.
“You may have the slowed, slurred speech, we’re stopping you for something other than a speeding violation or a taillight or a headlight out, we’re stopping you for weaving all over the lane,” he said.
But don't be mistaken. It doesn't mean Michigan State Police will be cracking down on the roads any more than they usually would.
“It’s not a whole lot different than it was yesterday or today, the only thing is tomorrow when we stop a vehicle, if we smell marijuana, we’re not going to search your vehicle,” said Lt. Kaiser.
Michigan State Police also want to point out that this law does not allow a person to smoke marijuana in a public place.
A person 21-years-of-age or older can only consume and possess it, as long as they are not intoxicated while behind the wheel.